Tuesday, September 02, 2014
Text Size

Site Search

Kid’s Fishing Day at Fort Niobrara National Wildlife Refuge

A youth fishing day will be held at Fort Niobrara National Wildlife Refuge on Saturday, September 6 starting at 8:00 AM and lasting until 12:00 PM.  The event is open to children up to 15 years old.  Children under 10 years old need to be accompanied by an adult.  A pond has been stocked with fish by the Nebraska Game and Parks Commission.  To get there go to the Fort Niobrara National Wildlife Refuge 5 miles east of Valentine on Highway 12 and follow the signs to the pond located by the refuge corrals.

Volunteers will be on hand to help bait hooks, untangle lines, and show first timers how to cast.  Loaner fishing poles, bait, hooks, and bobbers will be on hand for those who need them. Should you catch a fish, volunteers will even show you how to clean and cook it too!  Other planned events include picture with a fish, a casting contest, and making fish prints on t-shirts.  Snacks will be served.  Funding for the event is provided by the Sandhills Prairie Refuge Association.  For additional information call refuge staff at 402-376-3789 or 402-376-1889.




Valentine Girls Golf Results at O'Neill

The Valentine Lady Badgers competed in their first golf tournament of the year. 2 Badgers received medals, Ashton Bancroft with a 102 and Sherridan Bancroft with a 109, and Valentine placed 5th overall.

Team Results:

1st O'Neill High 407

2nd Battle Creek Bravettes 440

3rd Cedar Catholic High Sc 450

4th Norfolk Catholic 451

5th Valentine 460

6th Pierce 483

7th Crofton 514

8th Plainview 536

9th West Holt 1288

10th Ainsworth 2289

Individual Results:

1 Stephanie Sorensen Plainview 90

2 Mackenzie Hale West Holt 90

3 Hailee Harmon O'Neill High 91

4 Paige Mitchell West Holt 96

5 Paige Gaughenbaugh O'Neill High 97

6 Breanna Attema Pierce 97

7 Bridget Henn Battle Creek Bravettes 100

8 Lexi Schommer Cedar Catholic High School 100

9 Courteney Hostert West Holt 102

10 Ashton Bancroft. Valentine 102

11 Amy Schmitz O'Neill High 103

12 Taylor Finke Battle Creek Bravettes 103

13 Mariah Zavadil Crofton 107

14 Sherridan Bancroft Valentine 109

15 Chelsey Reifert Norfolk Catholic 109

16 Libby Tielke Norfolk Catholic 110

17 Abby Westerman Battle Creek Bravettes 112

18 Cassidy Ulrich Cedar Catholic High School 113

19 Mady Dogget Norfolk Catholic 114

20 Kim Carlson Pierce 114

21 Bailey Tinker Pierce 115

22 Olivia Fonseca O'Neill High 116

23 Lauren Bengston Cedar Catholic High School 117

24 Blair Benda Norfolk Catholic 118

25 Alli Walter Cedar Catholic High School 120

26 Jessica Stankoski Valentine 121

27 Ashley Kneifl Cedar Catholic High School 122

28 Dannica Chrisman (BC JV) JV Golfers 123

29 Emily Teten Norfolk Catholic 124

30 Faith Lenox Battle Creek Bravettes 125

31 Tori Osterman Valentine 128

32 Vanessa Taylor Ainsworth 128

33 Tory Tanmen Crofton 129

34 Olivia Zlomke Battle Creek Bravettes 129

35 Marie Sitz O'Neill High 129

36 Morgan Hampton Plainview 131

37 Molly Atkinson (ON JV) JV Golfers 132

38 Katelyn Stewart Crofton 138

39 Nicole Zavadil Crofton 140

40 Madison Morten Crofton 142

41 Heidi Nelson Plainview 157

42 Paige Johnson Pierce 157

43 Ashley Shaffer Plainview 158

44 Kirsten Gilliland Ainsworth 161

45 Sarah Watson Plainview 187

Valentine JV

8th Allison Collier 129






Falls Sports Underway at VHS


Badger Football total of 53 boys out. Very young team for first year head coach Blake Beebout.

9 Seniors

7 Juniors

17 Sophomores

20 Freshmen


Volleyball has 35 girls out this year.

6 seniors

8 juniors

12 sophomores

7 freshmen


Cross Country has only four athletes out at this time for boys and girls competition.



Girls Golf has just enough to make a team with five girls competing.

2 seniors

2 juniors

and 1 freshman.


Fish Salvage Set for Lake Yankton in Preparation for Fish Renovation

An upcoming renovation project at Lake Yankton in Cedar County will result in all fish being eliminated on Sept. 10. The Nebraska Game and Parks Commission has authorized fish salvage there Aug. 20 through Sept. 8. The water level at the lake is down four feet and dropping.

This salvage allows licensed anglers to harvest fish remaining in the lake. Length and daily bag limits are rescinded for the lake during the salvage period. Legal methods of take include snagging, hand fishing, spearing and archery. The use of legal baitfish seines, dip nets and landing nets is allowed.

Anglers should use caution while salvaging fish as years of sedimentation has made the lake bed unstable. Stranded fish of all species may be salvaged for human consumption only. Because of concerns for the spread of aquatic invasive species, salvaged fish may not be sold or used for stocking purposes in public or private waters.




Highway Travel Updates for Husker Home Games

The first home Husker football game in Lincoln is Saturday, August 30.  Motorists planning highway travel to the University of Nebraska at Lincoln (UNL) home football games are reminded to buckle up and pay extra close attention to the increased traffic which can lengthen one’s travel time.

There are several active highway improvement projects on Nebraska’s highways and the interstate.  Nebraska Department of Roads (NDOR) contractors will try to minimize lane closures on home game weekends for highways around the immediate Lincoln area, but some lane and speed restrictions will still be in place.

Leave for your destination early, allowing plenty of time for safe arrival to Memorial Stadium, and also for your return trip home.  Use 511 resources before you travel to be aware of known restrictions.

Lincoln Area Highways Under Construction - with Speed Reductions

  • I-80:  NW 56th Street to Exit 399 (Hwy. 77), in West Lincoln

  • I-80:  Eastbound 56th St./US-77 (Exit 405) to Waverly (Exit 409)

  • US-6:  SW 40th Street, West of Lincoln

  • US-34:  84th Street to East of Lincoln

Message boards will be used, as in the past, to direct traffic upon departure from Lincoln.  City of Lincoln Police and Public Works, along with Nebraska State Patrol and NDOR, coordinate Husker game day traffic operations to enhance public safety. Statewide

  • I-80:  Ongoing projects from Big Springs to Brule; Paxton to Lincoln County Line; Hershey East; North Platte East; Gothenburg Interchange; and Hampton to Waco. Speed reductions, possible lane restrictions, and some head-to-head traffic will be in place during home football weekends.

  • US-6:  From Hastings to the Harvard Spur, possible lane restrictions and speed reductions.


The Advanced Traveler Information Service, 511, is a free 24-hour, year-round information source offered by the NDOR and the State Patrol.  Phone numbers and web details are below.  Never use your mobile device while operating a vehicle.

Travel Resources Year-Round

PHONE:  Call 511 or 800-906-9069 and then follow the prompts.

WEB:  511 on the web at: www.511.nebraska.gov.  Use the icons on the left side of the page and click the map to zoom into the area you wish to see in detail.  Hover or click on icons for more details.  Map layers include highway cams, message boards and road sensors.  Links across the top of the page provide a text version of the map items (listed by highway number), statewide weather, and travel info for surrounding states.

MOBILE:  www.ndortraveler.mobi.  Selected camera views across the state by geographic area, weather links, the most recent NDOR tweet, as well as push-to-talk options to report impaired rivers, and to check 511 phone.  The base mobile site works on PCs, too.

Lincoln Parking Information and Links for Game Days



Big Red Express bus service http://lincoln.ne.gov/city/pworks/startran/

Street Construction http://lincoln.ne.gov/city/pworks/projects/street-closures/map.htm


Page 1 of 23