Wednesday, May 04, 2016
Text Size

Site Search

McCook to Join southwest Conference


The Southwest Conference has voted to approve McCook’s application to become the 8th member of the conference in a vote by member schools on Thursday. Conference bylaws require a two-thirds majority vote and McCook’s application reached that threshold. Primary areas of consideration by school officials included geographic location in comparison to the conference footprint, current enrollment and enrollment trends, and an interest in continuing a competitive balance in all conference activities. Consideration of the benefits of having an even number of schools was also discussed. In its application letter, McCook officials have indicated that they plan on a dual membership upon their entrance into the SWC, while maintaining the school’s existing membership in the Greater Nebraska Activities Conference (GNAC). On a related note, Kearney Catholic’s application for membership in the SWC did not reach the required two-thirds approval needed for membership.



New VHS Wresting Room Goes for Bid



At their recent meeting, the Valentine Community Schools, Board of Education voted to request bids on a new 50 by 108 foot building that will be used for a wrestling room and multi purpose facility. This project has been discussed for the past few years. The estimated costs of stand along building range from $450,000 to $628,000. It is hoped that construction could be done in time for the 201602017 wrestling season. Bids are due on April 5th.

It is hoped that the community would be willing to help with some fund raising by making a tax deductible contribution to the Valentine High School Foundation.


Valentine Wrestlers take Runner-Up at State Duals

1st Place - David City
2nd Place - Valentine
3rd Place - Battle Creek
4th Place - North Bend Central
5th Place - Aquinas Catholic
6th Place - Central City
8th Place - Wilber-Clatonia
8th Place - Broken Bow
1st Place Match
David City defeated Valentine 33-21.
3rd Place Match
Battle Creek defeated North Bend Central 47-31.
5th Place Match
Aquinas Catholic defeated Central City 42-33.



Valentine Wrestlers take Runner-Up at State

Valentine battled to take 2nd place at State Wrestling in Omaha with 97 points. David City placed 1st with 159.

The link to the detailed match results can be found here:

Jordan Kelber (113) placed 3rd, DJ Stephen (160) placed 3rd, Caden Billings (220) took 4th, Hudson Pearman (145) took 4th, Garrett Long (106) took 5th, and Noah Eklund (138) took 6th.


KVSH Area Boys District Basketball Pairings

Subdistrict C1-8 at West Holt Public Schools Subdistrict C1-8 Bracket
Game 1: 02/23 at 5:30 PM CT, #1 O'Neill 44.1364 (19-3) vs #4 Valentine 36.5789 (2-17)
Game 2: 02/23 at 7:00 PM CT, #3 Broken Bow 38.4211 (6-13) vs #2 Ord 41.1500 (11-9)
Game 3: 02/25 at 7:00 PM CT, Winner of Game 1 vs Winner of Game 2

Subdistrict D2-12 at Gordon-Rushville HS Subdistrict D2-12 Bracket
Game 1: 02/23 at 5:30 PM MT, #1 Crawford 42.9000 (15-5) vs #4 Cody-Kilgore 38.3529 (5-12)
Game 2: 02/23 at 7:00 PM MT, #3 Hay Springs 38.6000 (5-15) vs #2 Hyannis 41.8095 (13-8)
Game 3: 02/25 at 7:00 PM MT, Winner of Game 1 vs Winner of Game 2

Subdistrict D2-9 at Broken Bow High School Subdistrict D2-9 Bracket
Game 1: 02/22 at 6:00 PM CT, #4 Pleasanton 37.7222 (3-15) vs #5 Stapleton 36.4118 (0-17)
Game 2: 02/23 at 6:00 PM CT, #1 Anselmo-Merna 44.7143 (17-5) vs Winner of Game 1
Game 3: 02/23 at 7:30 PM CT, #3 Sandhills/Thedford 39.0909 (7-15) vs #2 Sumner-Eddyville-Miller 43.8421 (14-5)
Game 4: 02/25 at 6:00 PM CT, Winner of Game 2 vs Winner of Game 3

Subdistrict D2-10 at St. Pat's HS - McGahan Activities Center Subdistrict D2-10 Bracket
Game 1: 02/23 at 6:00 PM CT, #1 Mullen 44.8095 (18-3) vs #4 McPherson County 35.4118 (1-16)
Game 2: 02/23 at 7:30 PM CT, #3 Arthur County 38.8889 (8-10) vs #2 Paxton 44.0000 (17-5)
Game 3: 02/25 at 7:00 PM CT, Winner of Game 1 vs Winner of Game 2


Page 2 of 59