Saturday, April 30, 2016
Text Size

Site Search

Two VHS Athletes will play at college level.

Two Valentine High School athletes recently signed letters of intent to participate in college sports. Caden Billings, son of Coby and Kimberly Billings, signed to play football at Chadron State College. Braxton Coleman, son of Dallas Fowler and Kerri Gaswick signed with Nebraska Wesleyan to play football and wrestle. Congratulations to both athletes.


Sandhills Track Meet Results

Valentine medal winners:


Grace Robison 5th in 100 hurdles, 4th in Shotput

Sarah Shelbourn 4th in High Jump, 6th in Long Jump

Neal Lin 5th in 110 Hurdles

Lane McGinley 6th in 100 Hurdles

Austin Dunbar 4th in Discus

Dylan Lurz 3rd in Long Jump and 3rd in High Jump

Garrett Egger 3rd in Triple Jump


Valentine Track Results


Medalist at Ogallala Track Invite on April 2nd


Grace Robison 7th - 100 Hurdles

Ty Wolken 8th- Shotput

Dylan Lurz 5th - HJ

Sarah Shelbourn - 6th HJ, 3rd LJ

Garrett Egger 3rd Triple Jump


Badger Fund Raising Steak Supper


the Badger Boosters are doing a fundraiser steak feed for the wrestling/multipurpose room at 7:00 pm on April 2nd at the Bull Market.  Tickets will be $20 a piece and will be sold at the door.  It will be a chance for individuals to also make a tax deductible donation to help support the funding of this project, enjoy a great meal and socialize.




McCook to Join southwest Conference


The Southwest Conference has voted to approve McCook’s application to become the 8th member of the conference in a vote by member schools on Thursday. Conference bylaws require a two-thirds majority vote and McCook’s application reached that threshold. Primary areas of consideration by school officials included geographic location in comparison to the conference footprint, current enrollment and enrollment trends, and an interest in continuing a competitive balance in all conference activities. Consideration of the benefits of having an even number of schools was also discussed. In its application letter, McCook officials have indicated that they plan on a dual membership upon their entrance into the SWC, while maintaining the school’s existing membership in the Greater Nebraska Activities Conference (GNAC). On a related note, Kearney Catholic’s application for membership in the SWC did not reach the required two-thirds approval needed for membership.



Page 1 of 59